top of page

Femmes d'acier

Je tiens à exprimer un immense merci à tous ceux qui ont rendu possible ma participation à la conférence Femmes d'acier de 2023.

La conférence s'est tenue à Pittsburgh, réunissant plus de mille frères et sœurs, invités et alliés.

Le message de cette conférence était "CONNAISSEZ VOTRE POUVOIR", avec différents districts et sœurs représentant fièrement leurs sections locales. En tant que déléguée du District 6 pour notre Local 2004C, j'étais fière de renouer avec mes sœurs des districts 6 et 3, et de rencontrer de nouvelles sœurs de l'autre côté de la frontière.

Assister aux sessions quotidiennes, participer à des ateliers, à nos réunions de caucus de district et de directeurs, et aux réceptions a rendu cette semaine impactante et valorisante. Nous avons dansé, partagé, ri et, surtout, nous nous sommes tenues ensemble dans la solidarité, ne laissant aucune sœur de côté.

Mon moment préféré de la conférence a été lorsque nous avons pris les rues de Pittsburgh. Tous les participants ont été transportés en bus à l'Université de Pittsburgh pour se rassembler et montrer leur soutien aux diplômés et au personnel de PITT. Femmes d'acier a démontré la force du nombre, la solidarité, et l'importance de rester fortes et de continuer le combat ! Pittsburgh est une ville d'acier et fière de son syndicat ! Nous avons également visité le siège de l'USW sur le boulevard des Alliés.

Je tiens à vous remercier à nouveau pour votre soutien qui a rendu cette expérience possible. Je suis reconnaissante pour tous les cours auxquels j'ai eu l'opportunité de participer jusqu'à présent.

Ma passion pour l'USW est profonde. Je suis témoin de mouvements importants et de changements au sein de l'USW et je crois en notre section locale. J'aspire à rejoindre un jour le comité et à occuper unposte en tant que femme au sein de l'USW. Je suis désireuse de relancer notre Comité des femmes, d'être une voix pour nos sœurs et frères de classes protégées, y compris l'orientation sexuelle et l'identité/expression de genre, et de défendre la santé et la sécurité, pour lesquelles je suis passionnée.

Merci encore une fois pour votre soutien.

 

En solidarité,

Colleen Browning

Contremaître soudeuse

Sous-section de Guelph

 

Pour plus d'informations sur comment devenir un participant actif au sein de notre section locale ou rejoindre le comité Femmes d'acier, veuillez contacter votre chef régional.

 

Visitez le site de l'USW pour plus d'informations sur la conférence Femmes d'acier et leur pouvoir

https://www.usw.org/news/media-center/articles/2023/women-of-steel-know-their-power

bottom of page

top of page

Women of Steel

On behalf of the Executive Council of USW Local 2004, it is with great pride that we underscore our steadfast commitment to advancing the role of women in our workplace. The empowerment and active participation of women within our Local are not just goals but foundational pillars that strengthen our union. The Executive Council is devoted to creating initiatives and supporting programs that break down barriers and open pathways for women to lead and excel.

As a testament to this commitment, it was an empowering experience for our sisters to represent Local 2004 at the 2023 Women of Steel Conference. The following account from a dedicated sister within our Local captures the essence of solidarity and the spirit of change that we are fostering together.

I would like to extend a huge thank-you to everyone who made it possible for me to attend the 2023 Women of Steel conference.

The conference was held in Pittsburgh, bringing together over a thousand siblings, guests, and allies.

 

The message of this conference was "KNOW YOUR POWER," with various districts and sisters proudly representing their locals. As a District 6 delegate for our Local 2004C, I was proud to reconnect with my sisters from District 6 and District 3, and to meet new sisters from across the border.

Attending daily sessions, participating in workshops, our district and directors' caucus meetings, and receptions made it an impactful and empowering week. We danced, shared, laughed, and most importantly, stood together in solidarity—leaving no sister behind.

My favorite part of the conference was when we took to the streets of Pittsburgh. All attendees were bussed to the University of Pittsburgh to rally and show support for the graduate and staff at PITT. Women of Steel demonstrated strength in numbers, solidarity, and the importance of staying strong and continuing to fight! Pittsburgh is a steel town and union-proud! We also visited the headquarters of USW on the Boulevard of the Allies.

I want to thank you all again for your support in making this experience possible. I am grateful for all the courses I've had the opportunity to take so far.

My passion for USW is profound. I am witnessing significant movements and changes within USW and believe in our Local. I aspire to one day join the committee and hold a position as a woman in USW. I am keen to revive our Women's Committee, be a voice for our sisters and brothers of protected classes, including sexual orientation and gender identity/expression, and advocate for health and safety, all of which I am passionate about.

Thank you once again for your support.

In Solidarity,

Colleen Browning
Welder Foreman
Guelph Sub

For more information on how to become an active participant within our Local or join the Women of Steel Committee please contact your Regional Chief.

https://www.usw.org/news/media-center/articles/2023/women-of-steel-know-their-power

bottom of page